Hot Trend:coronavirusFIFA World Cup

UAE calls Asia's former best player for the 2022 FIFA World Cup qualifier

UAE calls Asia's former best player for the 2022 FIFA World Cup qualifier

Omar Abdulrahman is one of 27 players that coach Bert van Marwijk sent to training in Bahrain from August 25th to September 1st.

Creative midfielder Omar Abdulrahman first returned to the team since 11/2018. He recovered after the previous cross-ligament surgery. The best player in Asia in 2016 lost its form in recent years, still appreciated with technical left foot.

Coach Van Marwijk did not call forward striker Ismail Matar - 36-year-old striker. He gave the opportunity to many young players. Striker Ali Saleh (19) and midfielder Majed Suroor (21) were called after a good performance at the Austrian training in July 2019. Mohamed Al Attas (22) and Khalifa Al Hammadi (20 years old) were also summoned for the first time.

In Bahrain, the UAE will be friendly with Sri Lanka (August 30) and Dominica (August 31), before departing for Malaysia. Bert Van Marwijk's team will practice in Kuala Lumpur until the first match against Malaysia at Bukit Jalil.

"We want to play against Sri Lanka and Dominica because they have the same level as Malaysia. This will be the first friendly matches for coach Van Marwijk, helping him shape the play and tactics as well as better understanding of the team", Kooora quoted the captain Ismail Rashid.

The UAE is rated the highest in Group G, the Asian World Cup qualifier. They were off for the first match, then met Malaysia (September 10), Indonesia (10/10), Thailand (October 15) and Vietnam (November 14).

List of UAE players for 2022 FIFA World Cup qualifier: Ali Khaseif, Salem Rashid, Khalifa Al Hammadi, Khalfan Mubarak, Ali Mabkhout, Omar Abdelrahman, Mohammed Al Attas (Al Jazira Club), Khalid Eisa, Mohammed Shaker, Ahmed Barman, Bandar Al Ahbabi (Al Ain), Mohammed Al Shamsi, Hamdan Al Kamali, Mohammad Barghash, Khalil Al Hammadi (Al Wahda), Adel Al Hosani, Al Hassan Saleh, Majed Suroor (Sharjah), Walid Abbas, Ismail Al Hammadi, Ahmed Khalil (Shabab Al Ahli Dubai), Habib Al Fardan, Tariq Ahmed, Mohammed Al Akbari (Al Nasr), Ali Saleh, Ali Salmin (Al Wasl), Hassan Al Mahrami (Bani Yas).