Hot Trend:coronavirusFIFA World Cup

Malaysia summoned 27 players to prepare for the 2022 FIFA World Cup qualifier

Malaysia summoned 27 players to prepare for the 2022 FIFA World Cup qualifier

Four foreign-born players were named on the list of coach Tan Cheng Hoe announced on August 19th for Malaysia's 2022 FIFA World Cup qualifier campaign.

The four players are defender Matthew Davies, Dominic Tan, La’vere Corbin-Ong and striker Mohamadou Sumareh. The first three players were from Malaysia, while Sumareh passed away from Gambia. The Malaysian Football Federation (FAM) failed to process naturalization for midfielder Liridon Krasniqi and striker Guilherme de Paula.

Coach Tan Cheng Hoe retained 18 players compared to the latest concentration against Timor Leste in the first qualifying round of the 2022 FIFA World Cup in Asia. Meanwhile, Malaysia entered the second round when winning with a total score of 12-2. Syazwan Andik Ishak, Faisal Abdul Halim, Syazwan Zainon, Kenny Pallraj and goalkeeper Zarif Irfan Hashimuddin are the five players eliminated in this round.

The list of Malaysia's focus groups still has many pillars to help them to finish second in the 2018 AFF Cup, such as Syahmi Safari, Syamer Kutty Abba, Safawi Rasid, Norshahrul Idlan Talaha or Sumareh.

The five players on Coach Tan's reserve list are Khairulazhan Khalid goalkeeper, Amirul Azhan Aznan, Rawilson Batuil, Azzizan Nordin and Syazwan Andik.

Malaysia will focus from August 25. After a friendly against Jordan on August 30th, Coach Tan will finalize the list of 23 players preparing for two matches at the 2022 World Cup qualifier against Indonesia in Jakarta, then UAE at Bukit Jalil. Malaysia is located in Group G with UAE, Vietnam, Thailand and Indonesia.

List of Malaysian players for 2022 FIFA World Cup qualifier:

Goalkeeper: Farizal Marlias, Hafizul Hakim, Ifwat Akmal

Defenders: Adam Nor Azlin, La’vere Corbin-Ong, Shahrul Saad, Nazirul Naim, Matthew Davies, Syahmi Safari, Irfan Zakaria, Dominic Tan.

Midfield: Syamer Kutty Abba, Brendan Gan, Nor Azam Azih, Faiz Nasir, Akram Mahinan, Danial Amier Norhisham.

Forward: Safawi Rasid, Akhyar Rashid, Syafiq Ahmad, Hazwan Bakri, Shahrel Fikri, J. Partinban, Mohamadou Sumareh, Norshahrul Idlan Talaha, Jafri Firdaus Chew, Hadin Azman.